New Executive Order Signed Today, Effective March 16

Editor's note:

This order was blocked by federal judges on March 15th.

Students and scholars (professors and researchers) from the affected countries received a personal email from David B. Austell, Associate Provost and Director on March 7th.

March 06, 2017

President Trump signed a new Executive Order (EO) today affecting travel of nonimmigrants from six countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. Iraq has been removed from the list of the original executive order of January 27th. The order does not go into effect until March 16th

Clearly this new Executive Order is cause for concern. Please know that ISSO and Columbia University stand ready to help to the extent we are able to support our international students and faculty/scholars. The ISSO strongly advises affected Columbia international students and faculty/scholars to seek guidance from ISSO prior to any international travel for now. 


Please contact us if you have any concerns.