State Department Summarizes COVID-19 Travel Restrictions and Exceptions

September 16, 2021

This summary covers the four presidential proclamations that suspend entry into the United States of all non-citizens who were physically present in any of 33 countries during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States.

While not providing new information, this State Department summary is useful because it recaps and compiles in one place previously issued information about travel restrictions from the UK, Ireland, Schengen Area, Brazil, South Africa, Iran, India, and China, and the National Interest Exceptions (NIEs) that permit entry.

  • Students in F status benefit from a "blanket NIE", which means they do not require advance approval of an NIE from an embassy or consulate before traveling to the United States.
  • Students in J status and other academic J visa categories (professors, research scholars, short-term scholars, or specialists) must contact the nearest embassy or consulate prior to travel to receive an NIE.

Read the State Department article announcement here