Federal Courts Block Enforcement of the Presidential Proclamation’s Bar on Six Countries

October 25, 2017

Two U.S. District Courts have granted preliminary injunctions, effective October 17, 2017, to block enforcement of President Trump's Proclamation ("travel ban") for six of the eight countries:

  • Chad
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • Somalia
  • Syria
  • Yemen

The Proclamation's bars on North Korea and Venezuela were not included in the TRO, and remain in effect. Information about the Presidential Proclamation ​of September 24, 2017 is continuously updated on the NAFSA website. This information is current as of October 24, 2017.